It’s always a challenge for me to keep myself inspired during the period between when I start learning new pieces and when I’m ready to perform for the concert. Hence, selecting music in which I can maintain that focus is a very important process for me.

Last year, I came across with such music during a short conversation with a British composer, Graham Lynch. I’m very so glad that he guided me to his Beyond the River God. After a year or so, I’m still very much intrigued by this set of 5 short pieces originally written for harpsichord, offering memorable melodies encased in modal harmonies, seasoned with counterpoint and hemiloa at times, yet giving the performers such freedom to breathe between the notes. The more I got inside the music, the more I discovered its hidden charms.

The concert performance of the work was a success but I wasn’t perfectly happy with the audio result, so I decided to record the entire suite again, this time at home. I whole-heartedly enjoyed playing it, and hopefully will perform it again at the public venues in the future.  Thanks you, Graham for such beautiful music.

