Yesterday afternoon, I heard a knock on the door… A little girl with her mum standing there, asking me if I’d take her for piano lessons. I recognised her face, one of my pupils once or twice brought her in during her piano lesson because she wanted to play with her afterwards. She obviously loves playing the piano but going for exam-after-exam style lesson with her current teacher got her bored, and as a result she started feeling painful to continue…

In my opinion, taking exams should never be the goal itself; it’s just something you’d try to access your own progress in the process of development.

I hope to be able to help her regain her joy that she felt when she started piano lessons… And turn the act of practising into something she finds satisfying and rewarding to get where she wants to be.

